Everything on Paris Saint-Germain - LOSC !

History, what’s at stake and the keys to the match. Discover everything you need to know ahead of kick-off in the Round of 16 of the Coupe de France between Paris Saint-Germain and Lille, on Wednesday March 17 at 17:45 CET at the Parc des Princes.


Paris Saint-Germain and Lille will meet for the 3rd time in the Coupe de France, with the record reading one win apiece: in the quarter-finals (2-1) for the Parisians on April 19 2006 at the Parc des Princes and 1-0 to Lille in the Stade de France final, on May 14 2011.

It will be the  94th match overall between the two clubs. Lille were for a long time one of the bêtes noires of the Parisians, before the record took on a different look in recent seasons. It now stands at 38 Paris victories, 25 draws and 30 defeats in competitive games. 

The Rouge et Bleu are on a run of 23 matches undefeated against Lille in competitive football at the Parc des Princes (15 win and 8 draws), since defeat on April 27 1996 (0-1) in the league.

Only 3 clubs have had a worse run than the northern club:  Strasbourg (34 matches, ongoing run), Bastia (31 matches, ongoing run) and Saint-Étienne, with 26 matches without a win from 1974 to 2000.

26 players have played for both clubs: Jocelyn Angloma, Mathieu Bodmer, François Brisson, Bernard Bureau, Yohan Cabaye, Aliou Cissé, Lucas Digne, Oumar Dieng, Pierre Dréossi, Pierre-Alain Frau, Idrissa Gueye, Jonathan Ikoné, Mickaël Landreau, Bernard Lama, Christophe Landrin, Edvin Murati, Pascal Nouma, Bernard Pardo, Christian Perez, Stéphane Pichot, Jacky Planchard, Thierry Rabat, David Rozehnal, Younousse Sankharé, Amara Simba and Timothy Weah. Note : Mike Maignan and Boubakary Soumaré never played a competitive match for Paris Saint-Germain.

Dominique Rocheteau is Paris Saint-Germain's top scorer against Lille, with 8 goals scored, including six at the Parc des Princes. He's ahead of Safet Susic (7 goals), Edinson Cavani and Lucas (5) and then Jean-Claude Bras, Neymar Jr and Pedro Miguel Pauleta (4).

With 28 goals scored, François M’Pelé is the top scorer for Paris Saint-Germain in the Coupe de France. He's ahead of  Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Pedro Miguel Pauleta (16 goals), Safet Susic (15), Edinson Cavani and Mustapha Dahleb (14), Dominique Rocheteau (13) and  Kylian Mbappé (12).


The Coupe de France and Paris Saint-Germain have enjoyed a great love affair over the last 50 years! With 13 wins in the competition, the capital club have lifted the trophy more than any other club with Marseille next (10). The Parisians are the holders and have taken part in the last six finals, winning 5 and losing just once. 

The club will this evening take part in their 241st Coupe de France match with a record of 171 wins, 28 draws and 41 defeats, a win ratio of 71%, the highest in France. 

It's also the 36th time the club have been involved in the Round of 16 of the competition (in 51 seasons), qualifying 27 times and going out 8 times. 
Note : a defeat on penalties is statistically considered as a draw. 

THE KEYS TO THE match...

The Paris Saint-Germain goalscorers appreciate the Coupe de France with the club scoring at least one goal in the last 48 outings in the competition, a run that has gone on since the final... lost to Lille (0-1), on May 14 2011. 

Parisian scorers have often netted early against Lille. 3 of the 4 fastest goals in the history of the Rouge et Bleu, behind the record held by  Paul Le Guen for his goal against Apoël Nicosia (13 seconds, 28/09/1993 in the Cup Winners' Cup) were scored against LOSC : Maxwell at the Parc des Princes (26th second, final score 6-1, on 25/04/2015 in Ligue 1), Zlatan Ibrahimovic in the north (27th second, final score 1-2, on 02/09/2012 in Ligue 1), and Bernard Béreau at Stade Jean Bouin (30th second, 4-2 in the final of the National).


Angel Di Maria, who could play his 250th game in Paris colours, will have the objective against Lille of reaching the total of 100 assists for the club in competitive matches, in order to get closer to the record held by  Safet Susic (103, from 1982 to 1991).